

Every Child, Achieving Excellence

May 3, 2022

Dear Proud Elizabeth Public School Teacher,

On Teacher Appreciation Day and throughout Teacher Appreciation Week, the Elizabeth Public Schools learning community joins school districts throughout the United States in celebration of their frontline educators who, with great passion and commitment, prepare their students to succeed in school, in their future careers, and in life.

While the past couple years have called on us to face a new normal and navigate a new reality, educators have risen to the occasion through determination, dedication, and resilience. They have led by example, demonstrating the importance of learning by becoming learners themselves to develop a strong grasp of new educational platforms to teach effectively. They have also led by demonstrating their expertise in delivering innovative lessons that have allowed students to continue learning and growing despite challenges that would have seemed unfathomable just a few years earlier.

These heroic characteristics of educators — passion, commitment, determination, dedication, resilience, innovation — have helped keep students on track to fulfill their potential and achieve their dreams while facing unprecedented and incredibly difficult circumstances.

As leaders within the Elizabeth Public Schools learning community, we are proud of you for all these unique and extraordinary characteristics you possess and have shared in providing our students with the skills and knowledge necessary to compete and succeed in all areas of life.

On behalf of the Elizabeth Board of Education and the Elizabeth Public Schools learning community, we offer our deepest appreciation for all you have done and continue to do to inspire our students to achieve excellence.

Sincerely,

Rosa Moreno-Ortega

Board President

Olg/ Hugelmeyer Superintendent of Schools

Elizabeth Board of Education



Rosa Moreno-Ortega President



lliana Chevres Vice President



Nathalie Alcaide-Hernandez



Diane Barbosa



Maria Z. Carvalho



Charlene B. Dorgely



Stephanie Goncalves Pestana



Jerry D. Jacobs



Stanley Neron